Skip to content

Think Pink

September 13, 2011
by

I think it’s safe to say that almost all of us are at least somewhat familiar with Susan G. Komen for the Cure. I believe it is one of the best examples of a good campaign. We’ve all seen ads, we all all know about their 5k’s around all over the country, we all know that October is breast cancer awareness month, and we are all familiar with the pink ribbon. I personally haven’t had anyone close to me suffer from breast cancer, thank god, but I’m still very familiar with the Susan G. Komen foundation. If you wanna go directly to the source you can check out http://www.komen.org this website provides an abundant amount of information on breast cancer from understanding what it is to learning how you can help. So for the past five years I’ve gotten together with friends and “raced for the cure” and since October is right around the corner and it’s sign up time for me I thought I’d help Susan get the word out and knock out a school assignment at the same time! I never really spent too much time on their website before, just log on, sign up and run. That’s all I needed. I know breast cancer is bad and affects a lot of people so I like to help out a little and get a nice little work out with my friends. But now that I’ve stopped and really looked at it, I’m pretty impressed with how much information they have to share with everyone. They got together with Harvard medical school to create a section on the site that explains what breast cancer is, how it affects your body, how it’s diagnose, what the treatments are, what questions you should ask your doctor. There are other informative sections that explain the different ways you can get involved in helping the cause whether it’s offering your time or your money. The site tells you about all their sponsors and all the different ways the foundation gives back to the community. Their are blogs and message boards for people to share their stories or ask questions. The website even provides direct links to facebook, twitter, and youtube…I’m pretty sure this has become a necessity with any website nowadays. Another link allows you to donate directly through the website, or shop for breast cancer awareness merchandise. This website has everything rolled into one, so it’s not surprising that they have millions of people show up every year in cities all over the world to “race for the cure” but if you can’t make it to one of their races there are so many other ways you can help and they are all offered to you right here online, after all isn’t this where we get all our information anyways?!?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

